Wonder – ADOPTION PENDING

Breed:  Chihuahua-Terrier-Shih Tzu Mix
Approx. DOB: May 25, 2016
Weight: 27 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  medium energy
Adoption Fee:  $425.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-if children in the home, must be respectful of a dog’s boundaries and 12+ years old
-no dogs or other animals in the home
-must complete positive reinforcement behavioural training session(s) through Absolutely Fetching or other SCAR-approved trainer to build his confidence

Pup-sonality:
Hi! My name is Wonder and I’d like to tell you about myself. I used to live with so many dogs that the people didn’t pay much attention to any of us. Life is so much better now, thanks to my foster family who have introduced me to so many new things!

I am pretty smart and love learning new tricks. I caught on quickly when learning to sit, stay, come and play fetch. Where I used to live, no one played with me but now my foster family does and it’s fun! Now, I will initiate play and am happy to play by myself or better yet, with a person. I will match my humans’ energy and am ready to do what they want to do, whether it’s going for a walk or car ride, playing in the yard or settling in for a nap.

I love going for walks, am good on leash and stay right beside my human. Like most dogs, I get excited if I see a rabbit and just want to sniff its path. I used to be afraid of other dogs but with further experiences, I am now interested in meeting calm dogs. I still shy away from noisy barkers or ones who are pulling towards me.

In the past, I wasn’t socialized much so I was very nervous meeting new people, especially men. I am definitely gaining confidence so that when my foster family’s friends come over, I warm up pretty quickly and am very affectionate. Being cuddled is a whole new thing for me but once I am comfortable with a person, I like it. I am also learning to be independent so do not always have to be beside people.

I do have an area that is tough for me. I have separation anxiety when I am left alone. I did not like being in a crate but am getting more comfortable with this and am learning that it is my safe place. My foster family is helping me by crating me for short periods when they are home. Sometimes, I just go into my crate on my own to lie on my pillow or happily chew on a bone. I am learning that if my humans go out, they will return. I will need a patient family to continue to  help me to overcome this fear.

I also have made great progress in my house training! When I first went to my foster home, I had a couple of accidents simply out of anxiety but that hasn’t happened for a long time! I like outings and have been taken into these pet-friendly places called stores. I have approached strangers, sniffed them and have let them pet me. I must say that I don’t enjoy going into the vet office though.

Here is the ideal home for me! I need a family where someone is often home. I don’t like cats and tend to be territorial with other dogs so no other pets in the home for me. I am a good dog who will thrive in a fairly calm, quiet home where I will be given lots of love and further positive reinforcement training. Slow, safe introductions to new people and a consistent schedule will help me gain more confidence. With a patient family who gives me time to adjust to a new home, I will be a loyal companion and fun-loving family member.

Apply to adopt Wonder today!

Donate towards Wonder’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.

Who’s a good boy?
Time for a break!
Look what I can do!