Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: May 7, 2022
Weight: 5.15 lbs
Sex: Female
Energy Level:  medium to high energy
Adoption Fee:  $600.00

-Shelby should be in a home with another dog, of similar size (less than 15 lbs) and compatible energy level
-If there are children in the home, they must be 8+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries (note that Shelby is very small in size and would be easily harmed)
-Shelby’s home must have a fully secured fenced yard (no apartments)
-Shelby’s adopters must complete a training program with a SCAR-approved trainer at the adopter’s expense

My name is Shelby and I am a spunky little gal. I have lots of puppy energy and like to play, play, play.

I am a lover through and through and really enjoy being held and snuggled by my family. A great belly rub goes a long way with me. I want to be your little shadow and follow you around for attention and treats all day, every day. I like to play with my dog-sibling and play tug-of-war. I play with toys either by myself or with whomever will play with me. Being a puppy, I will need to be with a dog-sibling that is willing to play with me and help show me the ropes. I would also benefit from the socialization and play at a doggy daycare.

I like to sleep in my create overnight and can hang out in there for a few hours during the day as long as there’s a great chew toy to keep me busy. Being a puppy, I do like to chew things and need lots of good chew toys. I am still working on my house-training, but I have learned to do my business on a pee pad like a good girl. Sometimes I don’t feel comfortable when other dogs are near my food, I’m still not certain that they won’t take it from me, so it would be best if we eat in separate spaces so that I can feel secure.

I love to be hugged and groomed, and I absolutely love a bath. I heard that my forever family might even be able to take me to see some big water once the warm weather show up, I think I might like that. I don’t really like to put on clothes or have my harness put on me (but I know it’s for my safety so I do need it). Once my harness is on, I am a perfect little walker. I love to sniff and smell, and meet everyone when I’m out for a walk. I don’t know how I feel about cats, but it might be something that I could try.

I know some basic commands and am super eager to learn. I am a sponge and very smart, so I’d love to have a family that could work with me to learn all kinds of things. I would do best in a home where the people are home most of the time as I would just love your company and attention. I would make a very good travel companion as I am very good in the car and as long as I have my family by my side, I will be one happy girl.

I am full of life and full of love. My foster family describes me as spunky, loving, comforting, hilarious, tough, sassy, sweet, and oh so soft. I think that sounds like the perfect mix, so if that sounds perfect to you too, apply to adopt me today!

Medical Note: Shelby has been given Heartguard and Nexguard on the 2nd of each month. She will require these medications year-round to prevent heartworm, flea, and tick infections.

Apply to adopt Shelby today!

Donate towards Shelby’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR cannot adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.