Pookie

Breed:  Yorkshire Terrier Mix
Approx. DOB: October 29, 2015
Weight: 5.5 lbs
Sex: Female
Energy Level:  medium to high energy
Adoption Fee:  $475.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-Pookie would be happy as the only dog in the home
-Pookie is young and full of energy, her forever home should have an active family

Pup-sonality:
Hello there my name is Pookie, I would like to tell you a little about myself, so we can get to know each other better. I did have a family before that I thought loved me, but one day they took me on a car ride and dropped me off somewhere and just left me there all alone and I was so sad, I waited there for days and days for them to come back, but they never did. I don’t know why because I loved them sooo much! One day when my belly was making all kinds of noises a nice lady came and picked me up and brought me to a place called a vet clinic and the fed me and did a bunch of tests on me and they even fixed my knee that was hurting me alot. I live with my foster mom and siblings and they are really cool, I get lots of lovins and cuddles and my belly never makes those noises anymore!

My foster mom says that I’m a good girl, but I still need some work on my house training, BUT I will potty on those pee pads in case I reeeally hafta go and my foster mom doesn’t see me in time. I do admit that if I’m not cared for sleeping I will have accidents still and the crate is not my favorite place to be and I do whine when I have to go in there, but my foster mommy only leaves me in there for 4 hours at a time so I’m ok with that.

I enjoy meeting new people as long as they show me that they won’t hurt me and go slow especially men.

My foster mom says that I have to learn what personal space is, but I just can’t help myself because I just LOVE to be with my favorite human! I also love to chase my ball and play with my soft toys. My foster mom says I would do best in home with older kids because I’m just to under foot and bouncy for the younger kids and I also would do better with someone who agile on their feet because there have been a couple of time where my foster mom didn’t know I was under her feet and I almost tripped her and that would have been really bad!

Oh, I almost forgot I am a pretty good walker on my leash, but at first I get very excited but once we start going and I can sniff along I just love my walks!

If you think you have the energy, love and patience for a girl like me who is still learning how to become a good canine companion, then I would really like it if you went to something call a website and filled out an adoption form for me! Hope to hear from you soon.

Love, Pookie

Medical note: Pookie was given Pro Heart 12 on October 29, 2021 (this medication protects from heartworm recurrence for 12 months) and therefore only requires Nexguard each month for flea/tick preventative until September 2022. In October 2022, she will require a new prescription of Nexguard and Heartguard or Advantage Multi for year-round ongoing treatment. Pookie did have knee surgery and should not be climbing a lot of stairs, jumping on/off beds, or taking too long of walks for at least 8 weeks. She is healing nicely and we anticipate no further issues for her.

Apply to adopt Pookie today!

Donate towards Pookie’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.