Max

Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: May 12, 2020
Weight: 16 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  medium energy
Adoption Fee:  $500.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-if children in the home, must be respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-another playful dog in the home
-no cats or small animals in the home
-must complete positive reinforcement behavioural training session(s) through Absolutely Fetching or other SCAR-approved trainer

Pup-sonality:
Hello, my name is Max and I’d like to tell you about myself. My fosters say that I have been an absolute joy to have around and that I have been very affectionate and cuddly right from the start. I do prefer to be around them but am starting to show more independence, and I have become much more comfortable around strangers. When I arrived, I took awhile to warm up to new people but now it only takes me a few minutes. I’ve only met one child, a 2 year old girl, and I just wanted to sniff and kiss her!

I haven’t met any cats yet but I know I like dogs! I love to play chase, tug of war, or just snuggle with the dog who lives here but I am also content to play on my own with chew toys. I am well behaved on car rides and am starting to learn commands like sit. I enjoy my daily walk and tend to model the resident dog’s behaviour so if she barks and is excited when meeting new dogs, I chime in! When casually meeting dogs at the park, I am initially anxious but soon warm up and become curious and playful. I must admit that I need more leash training to be taught how to heel properly. I have a tendency to pull but respond very well to the martingale collar.

Okay, another important topic…house-training. I am not perfect yet but try to be a respectful guest so have had very few accidents in my foster home. If you want me off the furniture, I just need a voice command or hand gesture. Being a puppy, I do like to chew so I need to have enough chew toys available to me.

I don’t mind when I’m crated overnight or sometimes for a couple of hours when someone is in the room but is busy doing human stuff. Because of Covid, I have only been left alone for short periods and on those occasions, I have been crated. When I get a bit older, I may not need to be crated, as long as I have another dog to keep me company. When people are finally allowed to leave their houses again, I will need further help and experiences to overcome some separation anxiety. My fosters say I will respond quickly to dedicated training because I learn quickly and am eager to please.

Please keep in mind that I am still a puppy. I will thrive with a patient and loving family who already have a playful dog who wants a best friend. If I am a good match for you, please send in an application!

Medical note: Max tested positive for Anaplasmosis which is a tick borne disease, we have done all testing needed and at this time he has had no adverse effects do to this. We do not expect him to have any complications from this, but his adopters should read up on this and understand that Max MUST stay on flea, tick and heartworm preventives year round for life in order to prevent any other problems down the line. He should also have regular blood and urine work done. Max also had a umbilical hernia that we recently had repaired and he does have a big scar on his belly, but our veterinarian does not believe he will have anymore issues with this in the future.

Apply to adopt Max today!

Donate towards Max’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.