Macie

Breed:  Chihuahua-Dachshund Mix
Approx. DOB: March 15, 2021
Weight: 12.7 lbs
Sex: Female
Energy Level:  medium energy
Adoption Fee:  $525.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-another calm and respectful dog in the home
-if children in the home, must be 12+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries

Pup-sonality:
Oh… hello there! My name is Macie, they say I am only 1 year old and part Chihuahua-Dachshund mix, whatever that means! I had been living on the streets fending for myself, until one day there was a HUGE storm that left me with no place to call my own. I had nowhere to hide from the thrashing winds, cold rain, loud thunder and lightning, so I stayed where I was, hoping someone nice would find me. After what felt like an eternity, a car stopped, picked me up, and brought me to this place called a shelter that seemed louder than the storm, which made me super scared to the point I couldn’t stop shaking! Next thing you know, I am in a car on my way to Canada!

I am currently in a very cozy foster home to stay until I find my people that will love me forever! Listen closely, and I will tell you everything there is to know about me!

I have not been in a crate before, as my foster people are home most of the day. I am working on commands and learning the rules of being inside this thing called a house. I am still working on house training and I sometimes use these things called pee pads to do my business on. I follow my doggy foster sister around and I copy her behaviours so I can get them right! I go outside to pee and poop, but, silly me, I forget to tell my foster family when I have to go, so they put me on a schedule to let me outside every few hours. I have these adorable big ears which make me easily distracted with my surroundings, although, I have been working on my…. SQUIRREL…. listening skills, sorry guys!

When I get bored, I might grab shoes, clothing and whatever else to play with and chew on, but I am easily redirected with my toys. Since I was alone for the first year of my life, I had to find my own food, which had caused me to get upset at other dogs when they are near me when food is around. I share my toys all the time, with no attitude because I want to play! I would do better in a home with children over the age of 12.

Outside of my foster home, strangers are scary to me! I can become very anxious, and I sometimes bark at men. My foster mommy picks me up to introduce me to others as this helps my nervousness. I play well with dogs of all ages and sizes, and surprisingly I don’t mind cats, but who can blame me, they’re pretty chill. I do love going on walks, I tend to pull my people all over the place, but what can I say, I am nosey and want to check things out. I can bark at other dogs on walks as well, but I do not mean any harm, I am just saying hello! Car rides are fun as well!

My favourite thing to do is play (a lot), snuggle, follow people around, sleep on a comfy bed, and being groomed. Oh, and I also can’t control my licker! So that’s me in a nut shell! I hope to meet the right people for me so I do not have to be alone or scared anymore! I want to say thank you to my foster family who has been helping me through this transition process while I wait for my perfect forever family!

Apply to adopt Macie today!

Donate towards Macie’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.