Lenny

Breed:  Miniature Pinscher Mix
Approx. DOB: December 29, 2014
Weight: 14 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  low to medium energy
Adoption Fee:  $425.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-if children in the home, must be respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-another dog in the home less than 25 lbs
-no cats or small animals in the home

Pup-sonality:
Hi, everyone! My name is Lenny! I’m available for adoption but the people who brought me here to Canada thought it would be best if I told you a little about myself before you decide if you’d like to meet me and, maybe, adopt me as your “furever” buddy. 

Let’s get the boring medical stuff cleared away first. I’m recovering (nicely, I’m told) from dental surgery. I needed some ‘toofies’ taken out and the rest of them cleaned and boy, does my breath ever feel minty fresh now!  I also had something called cryptorchidism that meant my baby making boy parts needed to be removed from my belly. Don’t worry though, I didn’t need those anyway. So, two thumbs up, I’m healthy and in A1 shape now.  

My foster family gave me permission to brag about what a GOOD BOY I am. What they mostly like about me is how snuggly and gentle I am. I’m happiest when my humans are home but even when they’re not, I’m fine to hang out in my crate for 3 or 4 hours at a time. When they are home, I love nothing more than to follow them around all day long just waiting for hugs and snuggles. I love my foster family so much that I’d REALLY like to sleep in their big bed at night with them but I’m ok for settling into my own comfy little space until the morning. I’m proud to tell you that I do my “business” outside like a GOOD BOY should. I have peed a little in the house but that was when I was new to them and was a wee bit anxious. If I become part of your family, I’m sure I’ll be able to continue to do the same “business” outside but please forgive me if I make a mistake at first when I’m getting used to another new home.  

I’m a very respectful little guy and have never done anything destructive to my foster family’s house. (Remember?…. I’m such a GOOD BOY!)  I can get anxious when they’re not home sometimes so it may take time for me to be comfortable outside my crate when the humans are gone. I listen very, very well to what I’m told to do….ESPECIALLY if there’s a treat involved. I would do anything for food!  And if they need to take a toy away from me, I have no problem giving it to them.  I’m sure that’s a good thing, right?  

Have I mentioned how much I LOVE walks??!! (I’ll even dance and sing when my humans ask me if I’d like to go on one.)  My foster family report that I behave very well on a leash. Of course, I’m a GOOD BOY, right? I LOVE car rides too.  But I’m a little bit leery about where we might be going when we first head out. Once I realize it’s not to the vet, I’m just fine and settle into the back seat.  

There are no kids or cats living in my foster family’s house so I’m not sure how I feel about either of those. But I DO love to chase squirrels and rabbits so if you have any cats or small pets, maybe I’m not the guy for you.  

I hope this helped you learn a little about me. If you think I might be the perfect dog to rescue you, fill out an application today!  

Apply to adopt Lenny today!

Donate towards Lenny’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.