Jason – ADOPTION PENDING

Breed:  Chiweenie Mix (Chihuahua-Dachshund)
Approx. DOB: October 13, 2021
Weight: 10.2 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  medium to high energy
Adoption Fee:  $600.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard, no apartments
-another dog in the home, should be compatible and respectful (Jason would do best with an older, playful, well-behaved dog that can model good behaviour)
-if children in the home, must be 5+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-must complete puppy training classes through a SCAR-approved trainer within 3 months of adoption

Pup-sonality:
Have you ever seen a cloud up close? Well, now you have! I’m Jason, and I am the softest little cloud you’ll ever meet!

I love to play with all kinds of toys and love it when someone plays along with me. I am still just a puppy so I like play all day, life is just a party for me. I need lots of exercise, including walks and playing, and running around a nice yard. I am eager to please and really love to be cuddled by my humans. I would do best in a forever home with a seasoned dog that can show me the ropes. So far, I’ve learned what the humans mean when they say “sit” but I can learn so much more. I’ve heard them say that maybe I could take some classes to help me learn more about being a good boy and I think I would like that very much. I am very smart, and certainly know how to engage my puppy-dog eyes to get what I want, but sometimes I think just being a good boy will get me those treats and attention as well.

Did I mention clouds? Clouds, like me, are soft on the inside as well as the outside. I don’t really like loud noises and I can get scared sometimes if I’m a little unsure. A light touch is best with me. I do love being outside, all those smells and things to see. I am still working on doing my business outside in the yard (I spend way too much time following my nose), I can sometimes still have accidents in the house, but I think that’s just part of being a puppy. With some positive reinforcement, I’ll find my way. I am super great in my crate, I will hang out there during the day if my family has to go out and enjoy sleeping in my crate overnight.

I walk on a leash quite well for my age, if I do say so myself, I can be very curious (that darn nose again!) but am easily redirected to stay on task. I love all humans, big and small, and love to be cuddled and petted. I am looking for an active family with an active dog, and a nice big yard to run around in. All I really need is a loving family ready for a curious puppy ready for lots of soft puppy kisses.

Medical Note: Jason was given Pro Heart 12 on October 13, 2022 (this medication protects against heartworm disease for 12 months) and therefore only requires Nexguard each month for flea/tick prevention until September 2023. For October 2023, he will require a new prescription of Nexguard and Heartguard or Advantage Multi for year-round ongoing preventative treatment.  

Apply to adopt Jason today!

Donate towards Jason’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR cannot adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.