Charlie

Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: TBD
Weight: TBD
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  high energy
Adoption Fee:  $500.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-if children in the home, must be 15+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-another playful dog in the home less than 25 lbs
-no cats or small animals in the home
-must complete positive reinforcement behavioural training session(s) through a SCAR-approved trainer

Pup-sonality:
Hello, it’s me, Charlie! I’m full of puppy energy and ready to play with you all day long.  I would love an active family ready to take me on lots of walks and to interesting places where I can experience new scents and landscapes.  I am still working on walking well on a leash, but I’m just so excited to smell everything!

I enjoy being in my crate at night or for short periods during the day.  I do like to know my humans are near at nighttime though.  I am house-trained now but it did take a little while to learn not to pee inside so my new family may need to be patient while I re-learn this in a new environment.  While out for my walks, I can be a little afraid of new people or strange noises, so need some patience and training to help gain confidence in new situations.  I need another dog my own size to play with and learn from as I tend to copy what my foster siblings are doing when it comes to barking or playing.  The place I lived in before coming to Canada had small humans who weren’t very nice to me so they can make me nervous.  I like the bigger humans who tend to be more gentle when they pet me.  Speaking of petting, I LOVE getting pets and belly rubs!  I will walk on my human when they are sitting and snuggle myself in to let them know I’m ready for some me-time.

Since I am still just a puppy, I do love to chew everything.  You don’t know if it’s good for eating unless you put it in your mouth first, right?  I have and enjoy lots of chew toys but I still need some supervision when it comes to what I can or cannot chew on.  I know most basic commands and will respond to ‘leave it’ when my humans tell me.

I love being outdoors and will hang out in the sunshine with my foster family happily playing either by myself or with my foster sibling.  If you are ready for an energetic puppy to go for lots of walks with, we might be a match! I am sweet and loving and ready for my forever home.

Apply to adopt Charlie today!

Donate towards Charlie’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.

Charlie playing with foster-sibling, Jax
Charlie chilling in the yard
Charlie playing with foster-sibling, Jax