Brea – ADOPTION PENDING

Breed:  Long-hair Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: February 10, 2020
Weight: 6.8 lbs
Sex: Female
Energy Level:  medium to high energy
Adoption Fee:  $475.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-if another dog in the home, must be playful and less than 25 lbs (if no dog in the home, adopters should be home the majority of the day and provide socialization through doggy daycare or other controlled environments, no dog parks)
-if children in the home, must be 8+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-must complete training classes for a young adult dog

Pup-sonality:
Hello there, my name is Brea, and I’m super happy to meet you! I am excited by just about anything and everything as the world is such a big wonderful place to explore. I can be shy in new spaces, so I may seem a little scared at first, but once I’m comfortable, be prepared for a little ball of energy!

I was found on the lonely streets of Texas, just a little doggy with no one to take care of me. I was so happy to find other dogs to hang around with while I made my way to Canada. Now that I’m here, I’m letting my personality shine. I don’t mind the cold weather or the snow or rain, it makes everything smell so great. I’m a good little girl when it comes to going to the bathroom outside, but please know that I have a tiny little bladder so I might not be able to hold it for too long while my humans are away. Speaking of which, my foster family says I’m good to be out of my crate while they’re gone, I don’t get up to any mischief other than moving a slipper around the house but I haven’t chewed anything that’s not one of my toys.

I have lots of puppy-style energy and want to play, play, play all day long. I could use a dog-sibling to keep up with me so we can chase each other around and pass toys back and forth. I can be a bit of a toy hoarder but I will give up a toy easily if I have to. Sometimes, I try to take toys outside with me but we’re working on leaving them in the house so I can play with them when I come back inside. I’ve also been working on trying to play nicely with my foster sibling as they don’t always want to play as much as I do, so I can be a little ‘extra’ in trying to get them motivated. I can be easily corrected and listen when the humans are trying to tell me something.

I’m happy to sleep in my crate overnight. I like to be the centre of attention whether it’s from humans or other animals. I probably shouldn’t be around smaller humans for a while as I learn not to have my mouth open and jump up and down every time I get excited. I currently live with cats in my foster home, but if my forever home has cats, they should be dog-savvy cats that can handle my energy and playfulness.

I have a beautiful long coat of fur that needs brushing and washing, especially since I like to get dirty out in the yard from time to time. I really love exploring a nice, big yard, and never get tired to smelling the smells outside. I like to chase stray leaves and bugs when I’m outside, and sometimes just chill in the breeze. When I’m inside, I will play by myself with toys when no one wants to play and like to drag my stuffed piggy around or chew on chew-toys in my favourite spot.

I am looking for a family with lots of time and energy to keep me busy, and with patience to help me learn to be a good doggy citizen and valued member of a family. I will give you all of the love and licks I can, and this little girl has lots to give. Are you ready to open your home and heart to this tiny pup? I’m ready for you!

Medical Note: Brea was given Pro Heart 12 on February 10, 2022 (this medication protects against heartworm disease for 12 months) and therefore only requires Nexguard each month for flea/tick prevention until January 2023. For February 2023, she will require a new prescription of Nexguard and Heartguard or Advantage Multi for year-round ongoing preventative treatment. 

Apply to adopt Brea today!

Donate towards Brea’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.