Asher

Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: TBD
Weight: 7.5 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  medium energy
Adoption Fee:  $475.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-another dog in the home
-if children in the home, must be 8+ years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries

Pup-sonality:
Hi, Asher here to tell ya a little about myself to see if we can find me a forever family of my own! My story starts when I found myself on the streets trying to fend for myself day in and day out. It was hard to find food and water and a safe warm, dry place to sleep. I don’t know why I was put on the streets by my previous owner, but that’s where I found myself.

One day a nice lady put food out on the street for our pack and I waited in the background to eat, because I didn’t want to get beat up by the bigger dogs. This nice lady saw I wasn’t eating so she put some to the side where I was able to get some. Eventually, we became friends and she brought me into her house and told me she was going to find a rescue who would find me a wonderful forever home. The rescue gave me these needles and even got me neutered and this thing called a microchip. I’ve been staying with a wonderful foster family, while I’m looking for my forever home, but I’m hopeful that I will find a family of my own real soon!

Now for what I am looking for in my perfect forever family, I love all kinds of animals of all sizes I love to cuddle with dogs and cats, but the cats should be dog savvy. I will admit I am not perfectly house trained, but I am working on it really hard so please be patient with me and don’t get angry with me because I get very scared and nervous when you raise your voice. If you use a belly band when I’m inside the house, I’m cool with that, and it has been working out well for me as I’m learning not to potty in the house. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to sit in your lap wherever you are. To be honest, I’m trying to get all your warmth, plus I just want to be close to the people I love! Did I mention that I know how to dance? Ohh yeah! I will dance for you if you talk sweet to me! I LOVE to explore my yard and go on walks too!

I’m still young so when my foster mom goes to work she will put me in the crate (which I really don’t like) but I know it’s for my safety and I will cry for a few minutes, but I settle in and have a snooze and she is back in less than 4 hrs to let me out to potty (Cos we are still working on house training). I am a small guy and therefore don’t know how I would be with really young kids, but I probably would be ok with kids who are respectful of a dogs boundaries and knows to be gentle with me.

One more thing, but please don’t let this deter you from adopting me because SCAR will take care of all treatments. When I was down south, I tested negative for something called Heartworm disease, then when I came to Canada they always re-test all their dogs to make sure a test wasn’t what’s called a false negative or we were tested just after we were bitten by those pesky mosquitoes. Unfortunately, my second test came back positive so they are starting me on my treatment. They are paying for everything that will be needed for this (it will only be paid at SCAR’s amazing vet’s office) so you won’t have to worry about any of that if you want to give me a chance at a wonderful home while I go through my treatments. I can cuddle and chill out with you that would be so amazing!

So that is my story and I hope that you or someone you know might want to give me a chance at a fantastic forever home, because I really am a good loving boy and would love to have someone who would love me and give me cuddles forever!

Medical Note: Asher was given Pro Heart 12 on DATE (this medication protects against heartworm disease for 12 months) and therefore only requires Nexguard each month for flea/tick prevention until DATE. For DATE, he will require a new prescription of Nexguard and Heartguard or Advantage Multi for year-round ongoing preventative treatment. 

Apply to adopt Asher today!

Donate towards Asher’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.