Antonio

Breed:  Applehead Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: January 3, 2022
Weight: 9.8 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  high energy
Adoption Fee:  $600.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-another playful and well-balanced dog in the home
-if children in the home, must be at least 8 years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-Antonio is a very active puppy and needs a home that can commit to giving him lots of exercise and mental stimulation
-must complete positive reinforcement puppy behavioural training session(s) through a SCAR-approved trainer within 3 months of adoption

Pup-sonality:
Hola! Hello!

My name is Antonio. I was found living in a garbage dump with my mom and siblings when we were rescued and brought to a clean and safe shelter when I was very little. SCAR was kind enough to agree to take me and my brother into their rescue where we are now in a couple of awesome foster homes.

Now I am a big boy and living in Canada, learning to be a Canadian dog. It is much colder here than where I was before. But there is this wonderful green stuff…GRASS. I love to roll in it, lay in it and eat it. I also like to eat the small things I find in the grass. My foster parents call them rabbit poops but I call them yummy. I like to chase the bugs and animals that hide in the grass like rabbits, squirrels, grasshoppers and spiders. Sometimes I find treasures in the grass like sticks. I really enjoy chewing on those!!

Being a dog in Canada also means walking on a leash.  I like to go for walks with my family and pick up things on the ground. My foster parents don’t like when I do that,  so I drop it but I still like to pick anything up. I look forward to meeting dogs and people on our walks but I am supposed to be more mature and not jump.  My foster parents only let me meet others when I can do so calmly.  I’m trying my best to say ‘hi’ like a nice, well-behaved pup.

I am learning to use the bathroom outside. My foster parents take me out every 3 hours during the day, but I am such a little rockstar that I can hold it through the night. I do well on a schedule. I have had only a few accidents since being in my foster home.

Canada does have some good food…

I like food! I like fruit like watermelon, peaches, and nectarines. If I have too many treats I won’t eat my food, so small amounts of treats are best. I kinda pick at my food but I will eat it when the ‘good stuff’ is tucked away. I like to eat when my family eats. I am not a big chewer, but I like to chew on treats designed for dogs to chew on.

So far my foster parents are impressed with my intelligence. I know “sit”, “come” and “no”. They seem to use that one a lot . Practice makes perfect. I am a bit of a snuggler. I love to kiss, cuddle and snuggle I enjoy sleeping with you and beside you. I am from a warm country so I always like to be warm. I like a blanket or a bed in the house and my bed in the car.

If you are looking for a puppy who loves to be around you, loves to play and snuggle…. I am your guy! Pick me because I have already picked you.

Apply to adopt Antonio today!

Donate towards Antonio’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.