Alberto – ADOPTION PENDING

Breed:  Chihuahua Mix
Approx. DOB: January 3, 2022
Weight: 10.5 lbs
Sex: Male
Energy Level:  high energy
Adoption Fee:  $600.00

Requirements:
-fully secured fenced yard
-no apartments
-another playful and well-balanced dog in the home
-if children in the home, must be at least 8 years old and respectful of a dog’s boundaries
-Alberto is a very active puppy and needs a home that can commit to giving him lots of exercise and mental stimulation
-must complete positive reinforcement puppy behavioural training session(s) through a SCAR-approved trainer within 3 months of adoption

Pup-sonality:
Hi there, my name is Alberto! Aren’t I adorable?  I’ve been called a curious George! I’ve been told I’m inquisitive and smart, I just need to nail down this training stuff. I love chasing bugs and butterflies outside and have a grand ol’ time. I love to cuddle after I’ve spent all my energy. I love my toys as well as playing and wrestling with other dogs that are energetic like me. I love being chased and have been known to do my “zoomies” around the yard. My foster people say I need to know where they are at all times – what can I say, I’m a Curious George after all! When the humans take a bath, I like to station myself on their towel and rest easy knowing they’re right there. If they’re working around the house doing chores, I happily lay on my bed and watch them. Sometimes when the humans go downstairs to do laundry, I’ll stand at the top of the stairs and whimper when they take too long (because I can’t wait for – you guessed it – SNUGGLES!).

I stay in my crate when no one is home or during the night, and I tolerate it – it’s not my favourite but I don’t completely hate it! I’m usually left alone for about 6 hours a day, and I’m pretty calm and quiet when the humans leave the house. In my current “digs” (home), I can see the humans from my crate and I like that! I don’t really like closed doors and don’t like being in a room with a closed door.  I’m great around bedtime and will settle in for the night pretty quickly. And in the morning, I’ll let you know when I’m ready to get up for the day by whining a little.

I still have accidents in the house from time to time (oopsies!), but I’m working on doing my business outside! I’ve never had an accident in my crate and am used to going outside every two hours or so with my foster humans. They think I will only go pee if my bladder is completely full. When the humans are consistent and keep up with my trips outside, I do great and won’t have accidents in the house!

Oh boy, do I like to chew! I need proper chew toys and treat, and if I don’t have any at my disposal, I will grab your shoe and have a good chomp! Sometimes I like to dig in the house plants and chew on the leaves. When I hear “no”, I’m really good at stopping what I was doing and can be redirected to something more appropriate like those chew toys and treats I was talking about! When my foster humans ask me to give something back, I’ll do it, but I’ll give them a puzzled look and pout a little to inspire some sympathy. I’m smooth like that.

I have a healthy appetite and don’t have any concerns eating. I’m allowed on the furniture where I currently reside, and I just love to be with my foster humans. I also love toys – toys, toys, toys! My latest favourite is this really fun tennis ball. My foster humans are working on this thing called “fetch” and want me to bring the ball back to them. Kind of a weird concept if you ask me, but I’m good at it! I just love when humans play with me.

If you need to check my mouth, that’s no problem. If you need to check or touch any place on my body, that’s okay too. Like I said, I just love to be snuggled and touched – by humans and animals! I also love being brushed, bathed, and groomed in general. Sometimes I just get so excited that I jump up at my foster humans and bite their clothes to tell them “Come on, I’m ready to play!”, but they tell me things like “down”, “no bite”, and “not nice”, so I’m still learning what those words mean.

I’m not around children at my current residence but I love strangers! I let them pet me all the time. I just love everyone and adore all eyes on me. The attention I get is great! I love adults and want them to pick me up all the time. Sometimes I’ll even nibble on their ear and whisper in their ear that I want even more hugs and kisses! I just adore affection. Sometimes I may knock over small children, but it’s just because I’m so excited to play!

I get along with all dogs and I have lots of energy to spend and absolutely love to play. It would be best that I have friends who match my energy level. When dogs tell me they’ve had enough and that they need a break, I respect their boundaries and leave them alone! I take that time to rest. I haven’t interacted with cats here with my foster humans.

So, I hear that I need some help while walking. I tend to pull a lot but if I have another dog walking with me, I mimic their behaviour and walk much better. Luckily, I’m a great passenger in the car, though. I’m well-behaved before and after my car ride but need a little seatbelt/restraint or else I’ll be in the driver’s lap (again, I can’t pass up a good snuggle!).

Overall, I would love to love to live in a home with another dog who matches my energy level and loves to wrestle and play but is also well-balanced so that I know when it’s time to take a break. I also hope to have humans help me with training and a dog-sibling I can watch and learn from – monkey see, monkey do. Ultimately, I need a balance of play and snuggles and would love to live with a kind family willing to provide those things.

Apply to adopt Alberto today!

Donate towards Alberto’s foster home and vet care!

All dogs available for adoption with Second Chance Animal Rescue Windsor-Essex come fully vaccinated, including lepto, spayed/neutered, microchipped, and heartworm tested (and are on heartworm/flea preventative while in our care). At adoption, adopters receive a 6-week free trial of pet insurance.

SCAR does not have the resources to adopt animals to the United States and we can only adopt within a 200 km radius of Windsor, Ontario. Please do not apply if you do not live in Ontario, within 200 kms of Windsor.